Rachel Kramer Bussel’s Blogger Space


Rachel Kramer Bussel is a lively, refreshingly honest, and versatile writer who blogs about cupcakes and erotica. Take a gander at her photo below: which one do you think she’s writing about?

Whenever I’ve imagined myself as a full-time writer, which I’ve recently become after getting laid off, I’ve thought I’d have a home office filled with my secret passion, office supplies, with a place for everything and everything in its place. There would be a shelf above my desk for all my writing-related books, story boards and to-do lists and order. Instead, I’ve found that, try as I might, writing at home only happens under duress, in bed late at night, if I simply cannot not write.

Instead, thanks to my MacBook Pro, I am a portable writer. My “desk” is anywhere, usually a cafe like The West Cafe in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, where I can enjoy music, tea, coffee, and, while I don’t chat much there, the feeling of being surrounded by other people who are working.

Rachel Kramer Bussel: Cupcakes or Erotica?

I’m also superstitious, in a way, because if I’ve successfully written a story at one cafe or other location, I’ll go back there in the hopes of repeating my feat. And believe me, even after writing erotic short stories and essays for over ten years, every time I complete a task, whether it’s a long blog post or an assignment, it feels like a feat. I also need somewhere with steady internet access so I can update my cupcake blog Cupcakes Take the Cake, or do research or simply take a necessary break from writing.

For me, the actual space is less important than the atmosphere (a little noise is good, too much is distracting) and me forcing myself to dig into the words. I like to say that it takes me about four hours to write a story: three hours to putter around and one hour to actually write it. While one might think that I could speed ahead to that hour, and I greatly wish I could, I’ve found that that’s simply not how I work. So I need somewhere I can stretch out, spread out my papers and sometimes multiple books, which I may pick up and read a little, blog a quote from, then get excited about a given idea and get back to one of the many open documents in Word.

Rachel Kramer Bussel's Blogger Space

Blogger Space is a series devoted to showcasing the places bloggers choose to write. Want to show off your digs? Send a photo of your space, a blurb about why you write where you do, and a link to your blog to divorcedpauline@aol.com.

About perilsofdivorcedpauline

I am a survivor of a world-class gnarly divorce. My dastardly ex-husband is suing me for full custody of my son, and more time with my daughter. He’s super-rich and I’m super-not. You get the picture.
This entry was posted in Blogger Space and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rachel Kramer Bussel’s Blogger Space

  1. Cupcakes and sex? Ms. Bussel, will you marry me?

    I like the idea of having your laptop handy so you can jot down things when the inspiration hits you. I’ve been given to understand my muse also likes to have a cup of java from time to time so I never know when she may turn up.

    In reading over this woman’s opus, I could see all sorts of discussions being generated about not just the significance of women’s erotica, but the meaning of its very existence. In the 1981 book The Hite Report on Male Sexuality, the author Shere Hite conducted a survey of 5,000 men. She made note of a recurring theme in the survey answers: men were convinced that women do not like sex. Since Pauline Gaines’ blog is about divorce (and custody), this all makes me wonder about how many divorces are brought about by issues relating to sex, one of the most primordial parts of any marriage. Bussel writes hot stuff. Women are reading this hot stuff. You gals have just got to be hotter than we imagined. Divorce because of sexual incompatibility? Or divorce because of hang-ups about sex period.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to take a Twinkie to the bathroom so I can practise seductively licking the icing off it in the mirror. Oh crap, how hot do I look when I end up with icing on the tip of my nose?

Leave a Reply

